Austrian constant provinces

Bécsújhely, St. George chapel
These were the estates of the Austrian branch of the Habsburg dynasty, including Lower- and Upper Austria, Styria, Karinthia, Tyrol and Pre-Austria. These possessions formed the so-called Austrian district of the German-Roman Empire since the beginning of the 16th century. After the battle of Fehérhegy in 1620 the Czech state and Moravia also became part of the province of the Austrian Habsburgs - although as kingdoms. Hungary, however, managed to avoid becoming a constant province in spite of the Habsburg help and influence to organise the defence system against the Turks, and the fact that the country was divided into three parts.